The Lives of the Twelve Caesars, Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus • KIRA BOUTIQUE •

The Lives of the Twelve Caesars, Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus

Before you is the work of life of the ancient Roman historian Gaius Suetonius Tranquillus (ca. 70 AD – ca. 126 AD). He wrote it when being the secretary of the emperor Hadrian. The book is a collection of biographies of Julius Caesar and the eleven first Roman princeps – from Augustus to Domitian. Instead of listing military campaigns or government reforms of emperors, which is common for this genre, Suetonius collected anecdotes from the life of the rulers, described their appearance, habits, details of their personal life. And although the first pages of the book are irretrievably lost, and the biographies do not follow the chronology, the work became significant for the world history. It is this work that is the primary source and an inspiration behind a greater part of famous stories and plots: about Caligula’s horse, the actor’s exercises of Nero, Vespasian’s expression “money does not smell” and many others.

60 000,00 

  • Description


Language: Russian
Number of copies: 100 numbered copies
Format: 155 x 225 mm
Paper: designer paper (Holland, France)
Features: silk ribbon bookmark, manual-weaved tailband, gilt edge
Binding: genuine leather, handmade using classical old-school technology
Country of production: Russia
Age restrictions: 12+